TRAC 2018 Agenda

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Noon – 12:45 p.m.
Registration AND “Breaking in to the Industry/Motorsports 101” (optional session, no MCLE credit offered)

1 – 1:15 p.m.
Welcome/Opening Remarks

1:15 – 2:15 p.m.
Start-Up: Forming and Operating a New Race Team
Caldwell and Fulk

2:15 – 3:15 p.m.
High Risk and High Reward – Fast Times on Track
Moderator: Yarbrough; Panelists: Fay and Lifson

3:15 – 3:30 p.m.

3:30 – 4:30
Talent Contracts: Parties, Conduct and Restrictions
Anthony, Davis and Kempton

4:30 – 5:30 p.m.
Current Issues with Event and Venue Agreements
Krahulik and Odum

5:30 – 6:30 p.m.
Networking Reception

6:45 – 9:30 p.m.
Dinner to be announced (cost to be paid by each participant)

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

8:30 – 8:45 a.m.

8:45 – 10:15 a.m.
Anticipating Sponsor Issues: Key Contract Provisions, Payments, Bankruptcy, Etc.
Moderator: Efird; Panelists: Beadle and Ross

10:15 – 10:30 a.m.

10:30 a.m. – Noon
Hey! That’s My Design/Logo/Idea!/eSports: IP Rights 2018
Moderator: Levy; Panelists: Eberhart and Zirkle

12:00 – 1:30 p.m.
Lunch with Keynote Speaker (to be announced)

1:30 – 1:35 p.m.

1:35 – 2:35 p.m.
Read the Fine Print: Issues with Tax, Accounting and Highly Regulated Industries
Anderson and Brown

2:35 – 3:35 p.m.

3:35 – 3:45 p.m.
Closing Remarks/Adjourn Conference


Stokely G. Caldwell Jr., Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, NC
Matthew B. Efird, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, NC

TRAC 2018 Faculty

Eric J. Anderson, InfoLawGroup, LLP, Chicago, IL
William D. Anthony, Spire Sports & Entertainment, Cornelius, NC
Ryan G. Beadle, JR Motorsports, LLC, Mooresville, NC
Kimberly Brown, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Charlotte, NC
Stokely G. Caldwell, Jr., Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, NC
Cary B. Davis, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, NC
Marylaurel Eberhart, Apollo Sports & Entertainment Law Group, Charlotte, NC
Matthew B. Efird, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, NC
Jennifer Faye, SFI Foundation, San Diego, CA
Jason L. Fulk, Hoover Hull Turner LLP, Indianapolis, IN
Bruce Kempton, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams, Inc., Indianapolis, IN
Angela P. Krahulik, Ice Miller LLP, Indianapolis, IN
Roman Lifson, Christian & Barton, LLP, Richmond, VA
Neil C. Magnuson, NASCAR Media Ventures, Charlotte, NC
Ben Odom, International Speedway Corporation, Daytona Beach, FL
Shameeka Quallo, International Speedway Corporation, Daytona Beach, FL
Adam L. Ross, James McElroy & Diehl, P.A., Charlotte, NC
Paul T. Yarbrough, Hall & Evans LLC, Denver, CO
Wesley A. Zirkle, Keller Macaluso LLC, Carmel, IN